Turku School of Economics Finance Team consists of the following employed people.


Luis Alvarez Esteban (see also LinkedIn, Orcid, Google Scholar, and RePEc)

Mika Vaihekoski (see also LinkedIn, Publons, Orcid, RePEc, and SSRN).

University teachers

Marko Voutilainen

Post-doc researchers

Abu Chowdhury

Syed Riaz Ali

Doctoral researchers

Habeeb Yahya

Valtteri Peltonen

Md Khaled Hossain Rafi

Ville Kaukonen

Yufeng Ding

Prokash Chandro


From left to right: Marko Voutilainen, Syed Riaz Ali, Mika Vaihekoski, Luis Alvarez Esteban, Habeeb Yahya, Valtteri Peltonen (taken in August 2022).

Graduated doctors

Mika Hannula (2020), thesis titled “Essays on Strategic Trading”.

Matti Heikkonen (2018), thesis titled “Essays on latent factor models in finance” in Quantitive Methods in Management.

Joonas Hämäläinen (2015), thesis titled “New concepts in portfolio optimization under directional predictability”.